Some delegates may require a transit visa for South Africa (this is required even if you do not leave the airport).

Access list of visa-exempt countries (
If you require a visa to transit through South Africa you can obtain one by contacting the South African embassy in your home country.


Visitors that do not need entry VISA

Countries in the following list do NOT require entry visa to Namibia, but we recommend that you double-check.

Information can be obtained from the Ministry of Home Affairs' webpage or your local embassy.

List of countries exempted from VISA requirements:

Angola, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, India (Diplomatic and Official Passport up to 3 Months), Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malaysia, Macau (SAR), Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, New Zealand, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Russian Federation ( Including States of the former U.S.S.R), South Africa, Singapore, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States of America, Zambia, Zimbabwe


IF you need a VISA

If you do require a visa, please request for an invitation letter through contact(at) and submit via your closest Namibian Embassy. Invitation letters can only be issued to registered participants however the registration fee will be refunded should the visa application be denied.

1. Download the visa application (will open as a PDF file)
2. Fill out the application.
    For question #2b you can write “attending a conference”
    For question #10, you can write, “Travelling as to attend the Participatory Design Conference”
3. Attach the invitation letter.
4. Scan the application
5. Scan your passport
6. Include flight itinerary
7. Send all the above to the nearest Namibian Embassy.




You are here: Home Attending VISA